Jan Aarts Earns FOM Projectruimte Grant
Experimental physicist Jan Aarts has been awarded a FOM Projectruimte grant of 545.000 euro. He will use the money to research the interplay between superconducting currents and ferromagnetism. In the future this could lead to computer memory with negligible power More info

Publ. 20-05-2016 11:25
LCN2 Seminar Vasyl Palchykov
Vasyl Palchykov from the Lorentz Institute will give an LCN2 seminar on May 27th at 16:00 in room HL214, titled 'Ground truth? Clustering scientific publications'.

Community detection techniques are widely used to infer hidden structures within interconnected systems. More info

Publ. 19-05-2016 13:38
Luca Giomi Awarded Vidi Grant
Physicist Luca Giomi has been awarded an NWO Vidi grant of 800,000 euro to theoretically investigate artificial cell-like structures. This year, a total of 572 researchers applied for a Vidi. Only 87 of them have been granted funds, including twelve More info

Publ. 13-05-2016 13:46
Students Produce Movie on Van der Molen Lab
As part of the master course 'Academic and Professional Skills', four physics master students have created a video about Sense Jan van der Molen's research group. Jamie Culkin, Anne Meeussen, Sander van Lidth de Jeude and Isabelle Jansen devised the More info

Publ. 12-05-2016 10:31
More News

Recent articles

Jan van Ruitenbeek (2016) Molecular machines and devices, Beilstein Journal, 7, 310-311.
[DOI] [pdf]

Waqqar Ahmed1,Jan M. van Ruitenbeek (2016) One-step Synthesis of Cetyltrimethylammonium Bromide Stabilized Spherical Gold Nanoparticles, Journal of Nanoscience with Advanced Technology, 1(3), 20-24.
[Abstract] [DOI] [pdf]



24 May, 11:30, Casimir room, Oort building
Theory seminar
Dirk K. Morr, University of Illinois at Chicago: Charge Transport as a Probe for Topological Superconductors

24 May, 13:45, De Sitterzaal, room 032, Oortbuilding
Lecture Course Lorentz Professor
Prof. Ch. L. Kane: “Symmetry, Topology and Phases of Matter”
"Topological Superconductivity"

26 May, 16:00, GL - Cell Observatory
van Leeuwenhoek lecture on BioScience
Doyne Farmer (Oxford, Mathematics and Complexity Economics): The Evolution of Technology

More Agenda