Condensed Matter Physics - Home

Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratory

The laboratory is named in honour of H. Kamerlingh Onnes, who was one of the first professors in experimental physics at Leiden University. He was the first to liquify helium 1908, for which he was awarded the Nobel prize in 1913, and he discovered superconductivity in 1911. Most of the present day work in our laboratory still involves low temperatures.

The Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratory has five research groups:

Simulation of formation of nano-goldchains

Atomic and
Molecular Conductors

Prof.dr. J.M. van Ruitenbeek S.J. van der Molen

Simulation of indium atom on copper interface

Interface Physics

Prof. dr. J.W.M. Frenken,
Dr. M.J. Rost

Atomic Force Microscope scan of bio-membrane

Magnetic and
Superconducting Materials

Prof.dr. J. Aarts

MRFM figure website knipt

Oosterkamp Group

Prof. dr. ir. T.H. Oosterkamp